Association of Mining Related Councils Inc.

MEDIA STATEMENT

AMRC: Resources for Regions expansion not enough

The Association of Mining Related Councils makes comment on the NSW Government's announcement on the expansion of the Resources for Region's Program to include three more mining affected Councils, but continues to express its concern at the restriction of the number of Councils eligible to receive funding under the program.

The Association of Mining Related Councils, which represents 24 councils across NSW that are affected by mining developments, has welcomed the NSW Government's continued commitment to the Resources for Region's program. The inclusion of three more councils under the criteria (including two member councils, Cessnock City and Broken Hill City) indicates the government is recognising that local councils must be supported when and where mining is expanding.

Councillor Col Mitchell, the Association's Chairperson commented:

"It is however disappointing, other member councils in emerging coal and mineral mining areas around the state have not been included under the criteria. On many occasions, the Association has lobbied the NSW Government, including the Deputy Premier, The Honourable Andrew Stoner MP, Minister for Regional Infrastructure and Services (as recently as the Association's February 2014 meeting, where he was present) and his advisors. With supporting examples of cost burdens to local government, we have shown the need to expand the program to include all councils that have pressing physical and social infrastructure needs, where mining companies expanding their operations are paying increased royalties to the State government. The Government receives a large revenue source from royalties paid by regional mining companies and it should be substantially increasing the return of these royalties to affected councils through the Resources for Regions program"

The Association's Chief Executive Officer, Don Tydd explained:

"The Association will be discussing the Government's latest announcement in relation to the Royalties for Region's program at its Executive Committee meeting to be held in Sydney in July 2014. There will no doubt be a recommendation to the next quarterly Association meeting also to be held in Sydney in August 2014, that representations again be made to the NSW government, the Deputy Premier and his advisors that the Resources for Regions program's criteria be amended to include a wider number of mining affected councils and an increased amount of government funding be made available through the program."

"I have already made contact with the Deputy's Premier's Chief Advisor to get the process under way," Mr Tydd said.
Ends

Caption:

Association of Mining Related Councils Deputy Chair, Cr. Chris Connor, CEO Don Tydd, NSW Deputy Premier, the Hon. Andrew Stoner and AMRC Chair, Cr. Col Mitchell at the Association's February 2014 meeting.

Member Councils listed below. For further information on the AMRC, please go to: http://www.miningrelatedcouncils.asn.au/.

Association of Mining Related Councils Inc.

Members





Bland Shire Council blandshire.nsw.gov.au



Blayney Shire Council blayney.local-e.nsw.gov.au



Broken Hill City Council brokenhill.nsw.gov.au



Cabonne Shire Council cabonne.nsw.gov.au



Campbelltown City Council campbelltown.nsw.gov.au



Cessnock City Council cessnock.nsw.gov.au



Cobar Shire Council cobar.nsw.gov.au



Gloucester Shire Council gloucester.nsw.gov.au



Gunnedah Shire Council infogunnedah.com.au



Lachlan Shire Council lachlan.nsw.gov.au



Lithgow City Council council.lithgow.com



Liverpool Plains Shire Council lpsc.nsw.gov.au/





Mid-Western Regional Council midwestern.nsw.gov.au





Narrabri Shire Council narrabri.local-e.nsw.gov.au



Narromine Shire Council narromine.nsw.gov.au



Newcastle City Council ncc.nsw.gov.au



Orange City Council orange.nsw.gov.au



Parkes Shire Council parkes.nsw.gov.au



Singleton Shire Council singleton.nsw.gov.au



Upper Hunter Shire Council upperhunter.local-e.nsw.gov.au



Warrumbungle Shire Council warrumbungle.nsw.gov.au



Wollondilly Shire Council wollondilly.nsw.gov.au



Wollongong City Council wollongong.nsw.gov.au



Wentworth Shire Council wentworth.nsw.gov.au