Association of Mining Related Councils Inc.

## MEDIA RELEASE

### Mining affected Councils' experienced leadership

The Association of Mining Related Councils held its Annual General Meeting in Gunnedah recently, with a strong turnout of council delegates from throughout NSW attending. Wollondilly Shire Councillor, Col Mitchell, was reelected unopposed to the role of Chair of the AMRC. The organisation is the peak local government representative body in NSW for council areas affected by mining. Two Deputy Chairs were elected, one representing coal mining affected councils, the other with metalliferous mining (such as gold) in their area. The elected Deputies were Wollongong City Deputy Mayor, Cr Chris Connor and Cobar Shire Mayor, Cr Lilliane Brady.

Cr Mitchell said his unanimous re-election as Chair of the AMRC was a resounding affirmation that the member councils are unified behind the Association's positive, relationship building approach. "I'm proud and honoured to take on the role for another 12 months," he said. "It is a challenging role but we are achieving. We now have a strategic plan, a forward focus and we're expanding, with a growing recognition and influence with NSW Government departments. The invitation is there for any council, which would like to join our association."

"The AMRC actively lobbies the State Government but has evolved into more than a simple lobby group. Through communicative relationships with the NSW Government and Opposition, the NSW Minerals Council and other relevant stakeholders, we work towards better outcomes for mining affected communities."

"We've been invited to have a representative on the Uranium Exploration Committee. We also have a seat at the table of the Coalition's Resources for the Regions panel, only as an invited member but it's a start," Cr Mitchell said. "Not only is the Association representing member councils on mining issues at the State Government level, we are also conveying the latest policy information and departmental decisions and programs to our members."

Earlier this year, NSW Chief Scientist Professor Mary O'Kane was directed by Premier Barry O'Farrell to conduct an independent review of the State's Coal Seam Gas activities, exploring health and environmental concerns. An initial review can be read online but the work and specific research on such areas as chemical and contaminant risks, through to landowner compensation and CSG operator training requirements will continue into 2014. "The AMRC commends this thorough, holistic and open approach. Many councils are anxiously watching this review and keen to see how recommendations are followed up," Cr. Mitchell said.

The Association currently comprises 22 councils, from Wollongong to the Hunter, the Central West, west to Cobar and Broken Hill and North West to Gunnedah and Narrabri. Two or three councils are expected to join the collective early in the new year.

#### **Captions:**

- AMRC\_Gunnedah.Nov.2013\_4835:

AMRC delegates visiting Gunnedah's Pensioner's Hill Lookout:

Graham Gardner (Gloucester Shire Council), Ron Zwicker (Wollongong City Council), Eric Groth (Gunnedah Shire Council), Cr Kiwa Fisher (Upper Hunter Shire Council), Cr Liz McGlynn (Bland Shire Council), Cr Chris Connor (Wollongong City Council), Cr Robyn Faber (Narrabri Shire Council), Cr Col Mitchell (AMRC Chairperson, from Wollondilly Shire Council), Cr Hans Allgayer (Gunnedah Shire Council), Cr John Martin (Singleton Council), Don Tydd (AMRC CEO, Armidale), CR Kevin Duffy (Orange City Council), Cr Frank Hooke (Gloucester Shire Council) and Cr Owen Hasler (Mayor, Gunnedah Shire Council) - AGM Host Council).

- AMRC\_Gunnedah.Nov.2013\_4291:

AMRC Chair and Wollondilly Shire Councillor, Col Mitchell, with Deputy Chairs, Cobar Shire Mayor Lilliane Brady and Wollongong City Councillor Chris Connor at the recent AGM in Gunnedah.

- AMRC\_Gunnedah.Nov.2013\_**4233**:

AMRC Chair and Wollondilly Shire Councillor, Col Mitchell, AMRC CEO Don Tyd of Armidale and Gunnedah Shire Mayor, Cr Owen Hasler.

For further information, contact AMRC Executive Officer, Don Tydd: 02 6775 3844 or 0418 681 320.

# Association of Mining Related Councils Inc.

#### Members





Bland Shire Council blandshire.nsw.gov.au



Blayney Shire Council blayney.local-e.nsw.gov.au



Broken Hill City Council brokenhill.nsw.gov.au



Cabonne Shire Council cabonne.nsw.gov.au



Campbelltown City Council campbelltown.nsw.gov.au



Cessnock City Council cessnock.nsw.gov.au



Cobar Shire Council cobar.nsw.gov.au



Gloucester Shire Council gloucester.nsw.gov.au



Gunnedah Shire Council infogunnedah.com.au



Lachlan Shire Council lachlan.nsw.gov.au



Lithgow City Council council.lithgow.com



Liverpool Plains Shire Council lpsc.nsw.gov.au/





Narrabri Shire Council narrabri.local-e.nsw.gov.au



Narromine Shire Council narromine.nsw.gov.au



Newcastle City Council ncc.nsw.gov.au



Orange City Council orange.nsw.gov.au



Parkes Shire Council parkes.nsw.gov.au



Singleton Shire Council singleton.nsw.gov.au



Upper Hunter Shire Council upperhunter.local-e.nsw.gov.au



Warrumbungle Shire Council warrumbungle.nsw.gov.au



Wollondilly Shire Council wollondilly.nsw.gov.au



Wollongong City Council wollongong.nsw.gov.au